*BLOG TOUR* The Mother’s Day Victory by Rosie Henry

Today it is my pleasure to bring you my review of The Mother’s Day Victory by Rosie Hendry.

Can the Women on the Home Front protect their community in times of war?

Norfolk, 1940. As war rages on, sisters Prue and Thea, along with the wider community of Great Plumstead, are doing all they can to help the war effort, from running the mobile canteen for the Women’s Voluntary Service to organising clothing drives and collecting salvage.

When, Anna, a young German girl who fled her country, seeks refuge in the village, Thea opens up her home, Rookery House, and invites Anna into their growing family. But while many in the village welcome Anna with open arms, others are suspicious of the new arrival . . .

As the war intensifies and panic sweeps the country, Anna is taken by the government who fear she’s a spy. The women of Great Plumstead are already fighting their own battles on the Home Front, but will they come together in Anna’s time of need to keep the newest member of their community safe from war?

The Mother’s Day Victory is the perfect wartime family saga and the second novel in Rosie Hendry’s much-loved series, filled with heart-warming friendships, nostalgic community spirit and a courageous make-do-and-mend attitude. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest.

The Mother’s Day Victory is the second in Rosie Hendry’s Women on the Home Front series. The Mother’s Day Victory follows sisters Prue and Thea in their small community in Norfolk, as they do what they can to support the war effort. When Anna, a young German Jewish woman who has fled Nazi rule settles with Thea, tensions rise as some people begin to be suspicious about her intentions. Anna’s story is a heartbreaking one, but it was one that we need to read about. So many of the historical novels I read are from the British perspective, it was nice to read one from the perspective of the persecuted. Despite finding herself safe from Nazi rule, she still finds herself facing prejudice in the place she thought she would be free – despite being Jewish, her German roots continue to bind her to the atrocities in Europe.

Rosie Henry really brought a new perspective to WWII fiction for me, and I loved it. Obviously I loved the camaraderie and ‘can do’ attitude of the women in Great Plumstead – it’s always wonderful to read about communities coming together to support those protecting their country. But learning a little more about Anna, and those like her who managed to escape the Nazi regime was fascinating. I will go back and read The Mother’s Day Club so that I can learn more about the women in Great Plumstead, but in the meantime I am more than happy to recommend this novel to you. It is full of strong, capable women who fight for what is right – very fitting for International Women’s Day! I shall definitely be reading more of Rosie Hendry’s work!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Thank you to Rosie Hendry and Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour, and for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

Purchase Link

Amazon UK

Author Bio

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in North Norfolk with her husband and children. She writes uplifting, heart-warming historical fiction based on true events from our social history. Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked her interest in this period and she loves researching further, seeking out gems of real-life stories which inspire her writing.

Social Media Links

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s