Book Review: Letters to Iris by Elizabeth Noble

My latest review is of Letters to Iris by Elizabeth Noble.

A gloriously uplifting story about love in all its forms from the Number One Sunday Times bestselling author of The Reading Group and Things I Want My Daughters to Know

Tess has a secret – one which is going to turn her life upside down in just nine months’ time.

The only person she can confide in is her beloved grandmother. But Iris is slipping further away each day.

Then chance brings a stranger into Tess’s life.

Gigi’s heart goes out to Tess, knowing what it’s like to feel alone. She’s determined to show her that there’s a silver lining to every cloud.

As their unlikely friendship blossoms, Tess feels inspired to open up.

But something still holds her back – until she discovers Iris has a secret of her own. A suitcase of letters from another time, the missing pieces of a life she never shared.

Could the letters hold the answers that Tess thought lost for ever?

An uplifting, unforgettable story about keeping secrets, taking chances and finding happiness where you least expect it.

I was really excited to read this novel, and I can confidently say that I was not disappointed!  Letters to Iris is a novel about secrets and pain, but also about love, family and hope.

We are introduced to the novels namesake, Iris, in the prologue.  We are given a brief insight into her teenage years, and that of her older brother Tom at a time when war was breaking out and conscription was being introduced. We then fast forward to present day, where we meet Tess, Iris’s beloved granddaughter.

The novel focuses on both Tess, a young woman with a secret and an ailing grandmother,  and Gigi, a mother, grandmother and wife who has lost her purpose in life.  They each have their issues, but find their lives intertwining as a friendship blossoms between them.

I’m a bit worried about giving too much away in this review, so am keen not to say too much.  What I will say though is that the stories of Tess and Gigi are beautifully woven together, and I genuinely enjoyed following their stories.  I also loved the way Iris’s story, an elderly woman who had begun to lose her battle with life, was delicately threaded through the novel.  There are heartbreaking moments throughout, in both the contemporary and historic parts of the story.  This isn’t just a story of secrets and loss though; it is also a story of love, family and hope.  There is light even in the moments of darkness, and that is one of the things that I loved about this novel.

I am delighted to be able to recommend this lovely novel – I hope that you’ll read it and let me know what you think!

Rating: 📖 📖 📖 📖 📗

Thanks to Netgalley and Penguin UK – Michael Joseph for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

*BLOG TOUR* Confetti and Confusion by Daisy James

Confetti & Confusion Cover

It is my pleasure to bring you my review of Daisy James’ Confetti and Confusion as part of her blog tour.

The Paradise Cookery School is officially open!

Stepping in for a celebrity chef, Millie Harper is feeling the pressure to make the first ever Paradise Cookery School classes a dazzling success and ensure that bride-to-be Imogen and friends have an unforgettable experience.

Meanwhile, Millie is trying to play it cool around handsome estate manager Zach Barker. But whenever he is near Millie cannot fail to notice the chemistry between them – until someone from Zach’s past arrives and any potential romance seems out of the question.

When disaster strikes and the wedding is in jeopardy, Millie realises she may have to go above and beyond to make sure the school is a success. Can Millie manage to create a day that dreams are made of, and will she find a way to tell Zach how she feels?

Allow yourself to be transported to the balmy St Lucian sunshine by this uplifting summer read – perfect for fans of Jenny Oliver and Sarah Morgan.

So, Confetti and Confusion is the second book in the Paradise Cookery School series, following immediately on from the events in Sunshine and Secrets (a book I have also reviewed – see here).

If you have read my review of the first novel in this series you will know just how much I loved the setting of the Paradise Cookery School.  It is set within a luscious cocoa plantation in St Lucia, a Caribbean island known for its vibrance.  I am a big fan of novels set in beautiful locations (its helps me add to my ever increasing list of places to visit), and this novel was no exception.  I loved learning more about St Lucia, loosing myself amongst the cocoa trees, experiencing the daily deluge of rain that disappears as quickly as it appears – it really does set the scene, and provide a wonderful backdrop for Millie Harper’s experiences in the Paradise Cookery School.

This takes us neatly onto the characters within the novel.  We return to Millie Harper, the lovely Ella Johnson and of course, Zach Barker.  In addition, we have a range of new characters – the first attendees of Claudia Croft’s prestigious cookery course in her newest venue in St Lucia; Imogen, the bride to be, attends with the female members of her bridal party in the week preceding her luxurious St Lucian nuptials.

As we learned in Sunshine and Secrets, Millie Harper has a habit of finding trouble (or trouble finding her!), and it is no exception in the latest instalment in this series.  With a cookery course to unexpectedly provide, a wedding that suffers unexpected setbacks and a bride to keep happy, Millie finds herself pushed to her limits, both professionally and emotionally.  Throw into the mix the dashing Zach Barker and we have a novel full of twists and turns!

I really enjoyed this novel, and it couldn’t have been published at a better time.  It is a perfect beach read, and if you don’t find yourself on a beach this summer, you’ll at least be able to imagine yourself on the stunning island of St Lucia.  I definitely recommend this novel – it’s light, fun and you get to revisit old friends at the Paradise Cookery School as well and making new ones.  I’m already looking forward to the next instalment, Mistletoe and Mystery, out later this year!

Have you read any of the Paradise Cookery School series? If you have, let me know what you think!

Rating: 📖 📖 📖 📖

Thank you to Canelo and Daisy James for inviting me to be a part of this wonderful blog tour!

Author Bio: 

DaisyJames.2e16d0ba.fill-300x300

Daisy James is a Yorkshire girl transplanted to the north east of England. She loves writing stories with strong heroines and swift-flowing plotlines. When not scribbling away in her summerhouse, she spends her time sifting flour and sprinkling sugar and edible glitter. She loves gossiping with friends over a glass of something pink and fizzy or indulging in a spot of afternoon tea – china plates and teacups are a must.

Author Social Media Links

Twitter: @daisyjamesbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daisyjamesbooks/